It is currently Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:23 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Dice probability calculator for Excel
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 4:25 am 

Since I have been lurking away for a few months now, I thought it was high time that I introduced myself.

I'm very new to The Riddle of Steel. I'm a D&D player since way back, in a sporadic way - every year or two I would gather some friends and host a one-off adventure over a night or three. More recently, we shifted from 3.5 to 4th edition. I've tried hard to like it, but it fell pretty flat in some ways - prompting me to wonder, what do I really want from an RPG?

Imagining that there would be a plethora of well honed, generic RPG options out there to choose from, I was rather shocked by the reality. I found myself gravitating to smaller indie offerings, and I eventually read about Burning Wheel on The Forge. I decided that that this was what I wanted: an RPG that made characters feel alive and vulnerable, and encouraged an evolving storyline and player involvement over mindless hack'n'slash play. I bought the entire set of BW rulebooks and spent some months poring over them.

I can't put my finger on exactly what bothers me about BW. There was certainly a lot to like, and I simply love the character burning process. The game wasn't really designed to suit our sporadic playing style, and the hesitation rules (stand and drool, anyone?) certainly turned me off a bit. I also find the rules a bit overly complicated, and I don't think I'm particularly slow when it comes to crunchy rules. Maybe it just isn't for me. While still working on BW I started scanning for other similar indie offerings, and eventually I turned up at Trosfans.